Ripples

by minibites

Entree; Yamba prawn tart with creamed leek, feta cheese & tomato salsa

It was my beautiful best friend’s birthday and we celebrated over a 3 course meal by the water at Ripples. Gorgeous views of the harbour but the location of the restaurant was very hard to pinpoint. One argument, one GPS and constant over-the-phone guidance still did not lead us there on time.

Eventually we found it and were greeted to toasted turkish bread and dips. Entrees rolled out shortly and the majority chose the prawn tart over dozen fresh but raw oysters. The tart was great, a fantastic mixture of flavours; it was practically a party in my mouth – cheesy, seafood, pastry, tomato salsa and a touch of basil olive oil.

Main; Grilled beef tenderloins on a bed of creamed spinach with horseradish gnocchi and beef short rib ragout

Alternate Main; Roast suzuki jewfish on a fresh pea, parsley & lemon risotto

Mains were served shortly after and I choose the grilled beef tenderloins while the others around me settled for the roast jewfish. The beef tenderloins were tender and perfectly cooked – although the bed of spinach wasn’t a great companion to the meat, the ragout was perfect. The horseradish gnocchi melted in my mouth, I slowly devoured it because they were only 3 pieces. It didn’t taste like horseradish, nor do I remember what horseradish taste like, but all I knew is that I wanted more.

Dessert; Strawberry shortcake with champagne & mascarpone mousse topped with strawberry sorbet

Alternate dessert; Passionfruit creme brulee with glass biscuit and passionfruit syrup

Alternate dessert; White chocolate parfait with bitter chocolate, orange mousse and blood orange jelly

Being a dessert fanatic, I could barely contain my excitement when you could choose between 3 different desserts. I choose the strawberry shortcake – it had very interesting textures; crunchy shortcake, creamy and flavoursome mascarpone, cold, sweet, melting sorbet and diced bitter strawberries as the bottom layer – although it was a bit too much strawberry happiness for me. The creme brulee was fantastic – a great balance of flavours on the dish, and I enjoyed the fact that you could control how much passionfruit syrup to intake with each spoonful. Finally the white chocolate parfait, I didn’t have too many bites but it was definitely intriguing – it had a nice bounce in texture and the chocolate wasn’t too overpowering.

Fantastic experience, the staff were super friendly and enjoyed a laugh with us as the neighbouring puppy decided to come over to join the party. Definitely book and for a nice summery night as the entire restaurant is outdoors.

Ripples
56 Pirrama Rd
Pyrmont, Sydney
www.ripplescafe.com.au

Ripples Sydney Wharf on Urbanspoon

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 58 other followers

